Sunday, November 6, 2011

5 November 2011

Well I guess you could say I had a pretty average Saturday. Average for me that is haha which means I didn't accomplish anything I wanted to. I really need to work on that... But it was a good day in the end. I didn't do all the linear algebra I needed to and I didn't study like I had wanted, but I will make up for it during the week. I am writing this post a little late (Today being Sunday, so you can see what I mean by I didn't accomplish anything that I had wanted to) SO there may be a little overlap between this post and whatever I write for today. Well, we just had an excellent stake conference so I am like 100x more motivated to do what needs done. ANYWAYS, back to Saturday, I will expound on today's event later today, when I can complete a full record of the day.

SO, the day started off kinda slow, I woke up kinda late because I haven't been sleeping enough, and I did some cleaning or something.. I don't recall. I just remember that I hadn't accomplished as much as I wanted. So the day passed away until five o'clock when I started getting ready for our first session of stake conference. It was awesome! We had good speakers and heard from the stake patriarch who talked a lot about the Savior's love for each of us.


Also, something funny, one of the members of the stake presidency gave all of the RM's in the stake the assignment to ask a girl out by the following Saturday at 10:00 PM, and that the date be completed by the Saturday after that at midnight, and that it should cost no more than five dollars. Haha it was great.

After stake conference I went home and was just sitting on my couch when Derek got back and he asked me if I was going to come to the party with him. I was just like, party?? Sweet! And then I remembered that there was a post-Halloween party being thrown for our ward, so I went with Derek to see if there was any food. As it turns out there was (All complete junk food but still really good :D ) and there were only about ten or fifteen people there, none of which I knew terribly well, but we ended up having lots of fun.

Wallace and Grommet was playing silently in the background, as we played the opening game, which was "Tape the mustache on Beiber." It was played very similarly to pin the tail on the donkey, only was way better because you had to laugh the whole time when someone unknowingly gave him a uni-brow, or chest hair, or a goatee. Haha it was great. After that we played two variations of Swedish Twister (Which is SUPER FUN!) and I made it to the winning pair both times.

What made it really fun though was the people. I knew who they all were but I had never really hung out with most of them before. Two of them, Amy and Marissa, are my home-teachees, and then three more of them, Tegan, Lauren, and Natalie were there roommates. There was also two of my friends form the ee program, Ben and Alex, and then another Ben (Who is like 6 inches taller than me!) and a few other guys but I don't remember their names. The party was fun and towards the end involved lots of jumping and flipping onto a giant bean-bag and then ping-pong, pool, and fose-ball (Does anybody know how to spell that?? fooze? fuz? I have no idea xD).

I am really starting to like the new ward, and I really love getting to know more people. People are awesome, and there is never any shortage of cool people to get to know. Amy my home-teachee is really nice and fun. I am glad I am her home teacher.

Her roommate Lauren is also super nice. She is one of the sort that can just smile and be perfectly happy, and you can just tell how kind she is by the look in her eyes. I meet a lot of people like that here at BYU actually, but it was so nice to meet yet another. 

There was an awkward couple in the hot tub outside, and Lauren had the idea for us all to jump in with them so they couldn't be awkward with each other. After convincing the rest of the group we were with, we all ran home and changed and came back. Mind you this was at about midnight, and that it was near freezing temperatures (It snowed later that night). So there we all were in the middle of a freezing night hot tubbing. It was surprisingly fun.

Eventually a ton more people came so the hot tub was pretty full, so we all left and went home. I went to bed shortly thereafter. And that's that! A fun night, and I got to meet some more really cool people.

No comments:

Post a Comment