Thursday, November 3, 2011

3 November 2011

Well today was fun. I got through a programming lab for linear algebra and a chapter of circuits homework, which is much more productive than I normally am, although I didn't do as much other work as I wanted.

For linear algebra I had to determine the eigenvalue closest to zero for sparse tri-diagonal matrices of varying dimensions, and then find the limit of the number that is the result of multiplying the eigenvalue closest to zero by the square of the dimension. Very interesting, though I am not entirely sure why such a thing is useful to know.

For circuits, I did a LOT of complex and phaser analysis of RLC circuits, which isn't terribly hard and is also interesting, so that was good. The only sad part is that my calculator, a TI 84 Plus, is no longer capable of doing all the math I need it to do, so the homework would have been nigh impossible, but thankfully I also have the full solutions guide (Which is used WITH permission just to clear things up). Other than that, not much went on. I cooked, attended my hour of circuits, and did some reading.

There is one big thing that happened today: I am beginning to seriously contemplate changing my major from Electrical Engineering to a dual major of  Computer Science and either Physics or Applied Physics, with a Math minor. It wouldn't be hard to do, and even if I added both programs, I would be less than a semester behind in either, which I could make up for in Winter.

I had a very good and involved conversation with Marcos about majors, which ones are hard, why they are hard, why High School was so much easier and sometimes feels like it teaches you more, and why we are pursuing our majors the way we are. An excellent conversation which I really enjoyed. Marcos really is one of my best friends, and I am always so glad I have a friend who is so smart and thinks about and relates to things the same way I do for the most part.

In lieu of our discussions about missions, friends, school, majors, etc, we started talking about patriarchal blessings, and just how valuable they are. I am so inspired by mine, and it contains so many wonderful things I don't know what I would do with out it. It has definitely given me motivation and guidance when I have really needed it. And comforted me about some of the things I would otherwise be very prone to worry about. I decided I could have survived without it, but life would not be nearly as certain for me or as guided, and I probably wouldn't feel like I was doing the right things. And I would worry about a lot more I think. Anyhow, anyone who doesn't have one should get one; Anyone who has one should read it. They are amazing.

Well, it's late and I need to go to bed, so I'll go ahead and save this. Thanks for reading! If you are family or a really good friend, then maybe you will be able to read my full entries someday.  I decided I will only post the less personal things on here, but include all the details in my actual journal. There really is some good stuff in there. I like writing I have discovered. And I hate forgetting. So this is good because I feel like this blog will let me finally succeed at having a proper journal, and I have wanted to do one so bad for so long! Well, that's that.

Good night!

No comments:

Post a Comment