Monday, December 12, 2011

12 December 2011

Well, it has been a while, and so much has happened, so I guess I'll get started! It's finals week here at BYU now, which is sometimes stressful, but I think is still better than a hard week of classes. My finals aren't too bad either, I got a 91% on my first one, and hopefully there are more good grades to come!

Well, some of the fun things from the last few weeks:

Laser Tag! Our Elder's quorum went laser tagging with about 20 people, and I came in third, which was awesome :) And the top three places were all really close, so I was happy, especially since both of the guys ahead of me (just barely) essentially camped the whole time :P But oh well, I doubled their kills haha and then there was quite a gap to fourth place. The fourth place guy was the only other experienced paintballer with our group, so I was worried he'd beat me by a long shot, but turns out he only got two more kills than me (73) but got like 20 more deaths. So that made his points several thousand lower than mine. And even then, we were way ahead of most of the players. I think average scores were between 30,000 and 40,000, and I got about 61,000. So it was pretty awesome. I only have a few complaints about how this particular laser tag place scores and records hits, but now I have a modified combat strategy specifically for it that will allow me to at least half my deaths, which should theoretically put me way in first place next time. But we shall see. I still like paintball a lot more.

Talent Show: Our ward had a talent show! And it was catered by Panda Express! It was super good. And there are so many talented people in my ward it is amazing! It was so much fun. There was a lot of music, a few skits, and then some dances and that was most of it. But the people singing and playing piano and such in many cases had written or composed their own stuff, and combined with their own talent, it was awesome. :)

End of classes!!!!!!!: So yeah, classes ended. Yay!!

Well, that is all I can think of for now on specific events, but there were so many more fun things that happened with friends that it would take all night to write about them. Had a super fun time with the ward, and I have learned that mistletoe is apparently a pretty powerful kiss attractor. No worries though, I didn't kiss anyone or let anyone kiss me. haha though I am flattered to say that there were several girls who tried very hard, and even formed their own plots to try and get me. In the end it practically came down to a strength contest when they all ganged up on me, but luckily being more than six inches taller than them all prevented their immediate success and I am apparently stronger than them. haha it was nothing too serious, they are all good friends of mine, they were just trying to get lipstick on my cheek, but still no. haha not gonna happen. Though it would be hilarious to see Robbie and Derek's reactions to me coming home in such a state... haha! I get the brunt of the jokes about relationships. I think it's just because they know I could be in one but chose not to be, but I could be flattering myself too I suppose haha. Pretty funny though I think. Other than that, I played and lost yet another game of Killer Bunnies with Derek and Robbie, and I have been doing tons of random things :)

I get sad and down sometimes, and it seems like there is no hope or that nothing will get better, and I wonder what the point of anything is. It's hard. Sometimes it takes a while and nothing seems to cheer me up, but I can tell you those feeling always pass! Endure it well and the Lord will lift you up. Your friends will lift you up. Your family will lift you up. Even random strangers will lift you up. Just hang in there, and things always turn around eventually. And boy is the pain worth the goodness and happiness that comes on the other end! I am just loving life. It isn't easy, and I haven't been succeeding at everything, but I keep seeing more and more how good life is. It is hard, but so good. There are many evil, terrible, destructive things out there, but still, life is full of joy and happiness for those who chose to find it. I love it so much! 

I am making so many new good friends it amazes me. I feel like I have finally begun to understand how to be socialable. haha sounds funny, but I mean it. I feel like now I can have good conversations with just about anyone anytime, and it is really great because it is helping me get to know so many more people, and when people have a positive impression of you, they are so much more willing to accept your help when you offer it. And I want to help everyone! People are amazing. Everyone has unique struggles and accomplishments, and I never cease to be amazed. Humbling indeed! But I just love learning about people and becoming their friend and then loving them so much more. If I could wish for anything for myself, it would be that everyone I meet would feel how much I love them. But I think I am beginning to understand how to let them know! It isn't by what is said, or by how well you know them. I really don;t know how to explain it. It is just an attitude of love I guess. But I want everyone to know how I feel! I often feel like I am going to explode because I just love people so much! 

As a parting thought, never forget just how much the Lord loves you! He knows you very personally, and is doing all he can to help you succeed. Even if you feel like your life is going down the tubes, remember that he knows what is best and that once you are doing what he wants you to do, he will set your life on the track that is BEST for you. It may not be easy, and it might not make sense, but he knows. Trust him, and do what is right! You will go further than you currently see or think is possible. I know from experience! Good night!